03-07-13: review – the top ten best songs of all time📝


bohemian rhapsody is supposedly the best song of all time. really? screw that! (source:http://www.the-top-tens.com/lists/top-ten-songs-of-all-time.asp

I disagree.

Ah, so where to begin? “Bohemian Rhapsody” by Queen is a pop, power-ballad vocally lead by notorious rock/pop icon Freddy Mercury. The song is most-definitely a legendary hard-rock piece. It is a classic composition loved by many all over this wide musical universe. Yet, even though this song was rated number-one on the top ten lists website, I tend to disagree. In fact, I hate this song. So, let me tell you why…

“Bohemian Rhapsody” for me, really is a three-part song. It consists of a memorable, albeit boring, and quiet introduction, which then abruptly forms into a weird seemingly acapella-like vocal melody that unnaturally then breaks down into a traditional ’70’s electric rock guitar solo, later followed by absolutely boring lyricism.

Overall, the song has decent structure. I will give the fans this. However, this does not merit it the “number one spot”. I am sorry but that is an abominable atrocity. For society to label this track with the ultimate trophy is rubbish. “Bohemian Rhapsody” is not the awe-inspiring, champion musical composition ever created by mankind. The central idea for my reasoning is because the piece is not for everyone. Despite it being cherished by millions, (and it is a decent song) the opus just does not hold the cross-over appeal that is a key element necessary for it to be idolized by all.

Fast-forwarding.

Can you see where I am going with this review? Yes, no, maybe so? Unfortunately, this is not a musical composition for everyone. In fact, I can almost guarantee that most people who have listened to the track, either hate it or love it. There is no in-betweens within this matter. I, for one, despise it. There is simply no appeal for me at all. As a matter of fact, I remember hearing this piece back when I was a youngster, and clearly recall asking myself “is this a joke”? Yes. At the wise age of eight, I was inquiring as to the authenticity of a popular track revered by so many.

True Likability.

Likability is one of those traits that everyone wants to posses. Whether as a segment of character or, perhaps one’s personality, it is an attribute most wish to acquire. So, when taking this notion in relation to reviewing the “best song in the world”, I have to ask does “Bohemian Rhapsody” own that outstanding likable quality?

This composition, unfortunately, is not one that can be adored by all. Regrettably, it is just too quirky for me. It boasts squeaky and overly-high pitched vocals, touts strange lyrical content including peculiar references that not all may relate to, and conclusively magnifies repetitive piano-playing. Coming in at 6:02 minutes, it contrarily feels like a twenty minute song.

Now, I am not a fan of Queen (could you tell?), nor am I a pestiferous hater of this adored band/song. It is just that there are simply much better tracks out there. For a musical composition to have the prime spot, it must feature substance and memorable lyrics. I know that there are many pieces within the musical hyperspace that are dying for the number one spot that Queen has so viciously stolen.

Queen or King?

Now, you may be asking yourself, are there any redeeming aspects of “Bohemian Rhapsody”? Well, yes. To name a few, It does sport great musical composition in the theoretical sense. The song also blusters decent guitar solos, as well as some vocals that are tolerable (at best). There you go. So, now I shouldn’t have any hate mail coming through my inbox from loving fans of this song. I hope.

Nevertheless, what do you think deserves the “top spot”? May I also mention that Nirvana’s “Smells like teen spirit”, Led Zeppelin’s “Stairway to heaven”, and also “One” by Metallica are all deeply nestled within the confines of this ridiculous “top ten list”.

-Omar (c) copyrighted. 2013.

Check it out, and comment.
The link is here.

20130307-204843.jpg

One thought on “03-07-13: review – the top ten best songs of all time📝

Leave a Reply

